cliff bleszinski my hero

Andre Maestas Cliff Bleszinski

At first I didn’t know who to pick as my hero. There are many great titans in the entertainment and technology industries. Ultimately Cliff Bleszinski stands out as someone who id love to emulate. His love for games and ability to create even at a young age make me want to be like him. Cliff Bleszinski was born on Feb 12 1975. He is best known for his work at Epic Gs Creative Director. He has had a full career overseeing titles like Gears Of War.

Cliff grew up loving video games. He would sit in his room experimenting and attempting to create his own games. His first commercial game was The Palace of Deceit: Dragon’s Plight . He created in his senior year of high school when he was 17. After releasing the game through a small company that he founded in 1991 , he sent a copy to Tom Sweeney the then CEO of Epic Mega Games (Epic Games). Tim was so impressed by the game he hired Cliff right after he graduated high school.At age 18 he started work on games like “Dare to Dream”,“Jazz Jackrabbit”,“Jazz Jackrabbit 2” and “Jazz Jackrabbit: Holiday Hare” His most notable achievement when he first worked at epic was his design work on Unreal, the 1998 FPS that catapulted Epic Games into success. Cliff would later be promoted and work as lead designer on Gears Of War. In 2008 around the release of Gears Of War 2 Cliff was promoted to Design Director overseeing the design of all games developed by Epic and its satellite studios. The last game he oversaw was Gears Of War Judgment although the last game he actively worked on was Gears of War 3. In 2013 he left Epic to take a break after 20 years. He currently is developing a game with a small team to be released in the coming years. He married Lauren Berggren ( a former Build manager at iD Software) in 2012.

Cliff Bleszinski is my hero because of his commitment to the games industry from such a young age. I would copy his work ethic and commitment. I’ve sat at home for countless hours designing my own games. Today the process is much more complicated with hd graphics and advanced engines. I stand now in college waiting to learn how to code and design so that one day I can be a part of blockbuster franchises and indie games and being able to share what I’ve made with those I love. Cliff is a nerds nerd but hes still an awesome dude. I’ve used the Unreal Engine ( the software that powers all of the games Epic makes) and it has been my dream to one day have a chance to work there. Cliff Bleszinski showed me that talent and hard work will pay off in the end. No amount of schooling can beat a desire to learn and explore on your own. Developers arent looking for your class projects. They are looking for your own creative work and ability to create without being told to.

 

ImageImage

Leave a comment